Seal of the Otoe Missouria Tribe
Visit OM Tribe on FacebookTwitterYouTube


The Tribal Council is the elected governing body of the Otoe-Missouria Tribe. The primary duties of the Tribal Council are to enforce the Tribal Laws and Policies and to serve as the decision-making authority on budgets and investments.  The Tribal Council is also the parent body for the Tribal Administration. Overall, the Tribal Administration ensures that services, as decided by the Tribal Council, are provided to Tribal Members.

The Tribal Council consists of a seven members elected by secret ballot by qualified voters of the Tribe. The terms for each member are staggered and last for three years.  There are no term limits. Each Tribal Council member has responsibilities for certain duties as listed in the Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians Constitution.

The Council holds regular meetings monthly in a place and date determined by the members. Currently the meetings are held in the Council Building at tribal headquarters. And are open to the public, except when the Council is in Executive Session.

Council                       Member Name                   Ending Term of Office

Chairman              John R. Shotton                     November 2016

Vice-Chairman       Ted Grant                              November 2018

Secretary               Darrell Kihega                      November 2016

Treasurer               Courtney Burgess                 November 2018

First Member          Wesley J. Hudson               November 2016

Second Member      Melanie Harader                 November 2016

Third Member         Alvin Moore                          November 2018